The Gulf States Showcase hosts an annual referee academy to
educate and instruct hand-picked officials by the Alabama Soccer Referee Committee.

Referee Showcase

December 9 & 10, 2023

The Referee Showcase will be held during Gulf States Showcase in Foley, Alabama. This is a premier event with top-level youth teams from around the Southeast being scouted by college coaching staff. 




Showcase Mentors

The Referee Showcase hosts pro-track and career referees who offer professional advice and training to officials.

Brooke Mayo

FIFA AR 2018 to Present;  PRO 2, Tier A Official


  • Olympic Qualifying 2020 Games
  • NWSL Challenge Cup Final official 2021
  • World Cup Qatar 2023 Qualifying Game


Nick Uranga

FIFA panel, 2020-present; MLS, AR 2016-Present


  • NWSL Championship Final – 2016
  • USL Cup Final – 2016
  • NASL Final – 2017
  • MLS All-Star [RAR] – 2018
  • Open Cup Final – 2019
  • World Cup Qualifiers – 2022

Jared Peeler

Arkansas State Referee Committee, Chairman


  • National Referee Coach,
    United States Soccer Federation
  • National Emeritus USSF Assistant Referee
  • National NISOA Referee, Referee of the Year
  • State Assessor

What is the Referee Showcase?

  • The 2020 Referee Showcase hosted nearly 60 officials who were recommended to the academy due to excellent officiating skills and superior performance in their region.
  • Officials travel from Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee to be mentored by FIFA, U.S. National, and pro-career track referees.
  • Referee coaches and mentors will be on location working with the referees to provide coaching and feedback. 

When and where is the Referee Showcase?

  • In partnership with Snap Soccer, the Alabama Soccer Referee Committee annually hosts the Referee Showcase at the Gulf States College Showcase.
  • Travel soccer teams from Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida participate in the Gulf States College Showcase in Foley, AL, for U14-U19 players to be observed and recruited by collegiate soccer coaches.
  • The 2021 showcase will take place on the pristine fields of the Foley Sports Tourism Complex on December 11-12, 2021, in Foley, AL.

Who do I contact for more information?

All applications for the Referee Showcase must be placed through the Gulf States Showcase event page in SINC (Soccer In College).

For more information on this valuable opportunity, contact Ryan Campbell, State Director of Instruction, Alabama Soccer Referee Committee

Ryan Campbell

Ryan Campbell

  • State Director of Instruction – Alabama State Referee Committee (since 2019)
  • Regional Referee Emeritus (as of 2020)
  • Regional Referee from 2014-2019
  • Referee Mentor (since 2015)
  • Assignor (since 2015)

Past Referee Attendees


Alex Garcia
Allen Turner
Benjamin Senior
Bradley Luker
Celeste Roberts
Claudiu Muntele
Daniel Pascual
David Killian
Dorian Del Toro
Ethan Senior
Ethan Wilson
Frank Jones
Ian Mercer
Jacob deLange
Jamey Ward
Jason Kuehl
Javier Nava

John Dupree
Karim Remache
Kendall McCardell
Laurentiu Pirvu
Louis Hines
Luke Neslen
Magdi Eltom
Matthew Grimm
Mercedes Del Toro
Michael Shartava
Miriama Kocisova
Mohamed Eltom
Nathanael Teshome
Pete Gonzalez
Robyn Brackin
Tim Holt
TJ McGettigan

Tucker Edwards
Walter Bracewell
Wanda Porter
Wesley Collins
William Arthur
William Herndon
Ignacio Ruiz de Olano


Armon Varmeziar
Ayman Alabsa
Brandt Miller
Christopher Hagerty
Daniel Benson
Shawyon Shirazi
Sidney Stone


Blake Parr
Ezra Hèbert
Trevor Stevens
Tyler Magnano
Adam Shaw
Daniel Hawkins


Adam Desai
Alexis McDonald
Bryce Hammond
Donald Barnett
Jody Lautigar
Olivia McDonald
Sarah McKee